
 

 

IN THE SUPREME COURT, STATE OF WYOMING 
 
 
 APRIL TERM, A.D. 2010 

 
 

 

 

IN THE MATTER OF THE ADOPTION OF ) 

AMENDMENTS TO THE RULES FOR FEES )            

AND COSTS FOR CIRCUIT COURTS  )  

 

 

 
ORDER ADOPTING AMENDMENTS TO 

THE RULES FOR FEES AND COSTS FOR CIRCUIT COURTS 
 

 
THE COURT, on its own motion, has determined that amendments to the Rules for Fees 

and Costs for Circuit Courts are necessary as a result of the enactment of Wyo. Stat. Ann § 5-2-
121 creating an indigent civil legal services account.  It is therefore 
 

ORDERED that the amendments to the Rules for Fees and Costs for Circuit Courts, a 
copy of which is attached hereto, be adopted and shall be effective July 1, 2010.  It is further  

 
 ORDERED that this order and the rule amendments be published in the advance sheets 
of the Pacific Reporter; the rule amendments be published in the Wyoming Court Rules Volume; 
and this order and the rule amendments be made available online at the Wyoming Judicial 
Branch’s website, http://www.courts.state.wy.us.  The amendments shall thereafter be spread at 
length upon the journal of this Court. 

 
 DATED this 25

th
 day of May, 2010. 

 
 

BY THE COURT: 
 
 
 
 

Barton R. Voigt 
Chief Justice 

http://www.courts.state.wy.us/


 

 

RULES FOR FEES AND COSTS FOR CIRCUIT COURTS 

 

 

Rule 1.  Costs and fees in criminal actions. 

 

 (a) Circuit courts shall collect for every criminal/traffic charge (count) for which a 

conviction results unless otherwise specifically excepted by statute or court rule, costs in the sum 

of $20.00 which shall be assessed as part of the sentence.  In addition, for every criminal/traffic 

charge (count) for which a conviction results unless otherwise specifically excepted by statute or 

court rule, a fee of $10.00 $20.00 shall be imposed, $10.00 of which and shall be deposited into 

the judicial systems automation account established by W.S. § 5-2-120 and $10.00 of which shall 

be deposited into the indigent civil legal services account established by W.S. § 5-2-121. 

 (b) For every charge (count) the court shall impose the costs and fees provided for under 

paragraph (a) above, and the victim's compensation fee as required by W.S. § 1-40-119, unless 

the court determines the defendant has an inability to pay and that no reasonable probability 

exists that the defendant will have an ability to pay. 


