
IN THE SUPREME COURT, STATE OF WYOMING 
 

                                                                                           April Term, A.D. 2012 

 

 
 

 

In the Matter of Amendments to     ) 

Rules 10, 11, and 12 of the     ) 

Rules of the Wyoming State Board of   ) 

Continuing Legal Education     )  

 

 

ORDER ADOPTING AMENDMENTS TO RULES 10, 11, AND 12 OF THE 

RULES OF THE WYOMING STATE BOARD OF  

CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION  
  

 The Officers and Commissioners of the Wyoming State Bar have recommended that 

the Wyoming Supreme Court amend Rules 10, 11, and 12 of the Rules of the Wyoming State 

Board of Continuing Legal Education.  The Court, having carefully reviewed the proposed 

amendments, finds that the proposed amendments should be adopted.  It is, therefore, 

 

 ORDERED that the amendments to Rules 10, 11, and 12 of the Rules of the Wyoming 

State Board of Continuing Legal Education, attached hereto, be and hereby are adopted by the 

Court to be effective September 30, 2012; and it is further 

 

ORDERED that this order and the attached amendments shall be published in the 

advance sheets of the Pacific Reporter; the attached amendments shall be published in the 

Wyoming Court Rules Volume; and that this order and the attached amendments shall be 

published online at the Wyoming Judicial Branch’s website, http://www.courts.state.wy.us.  The 

amendments shall thereafter be spread at length upon the journal of this Court. 

 

 DATED this 10
th
 day of August, 2012. 

 

      BY THE COURT: 

 

      /s/ 

 

 

      MARILYN S. KITE 

      Chief Justice 

  

http://www.courts.state.wy.us/


Rules of the Wyoming State Board of Continuing Legal Education 

 

***** 

 

Rule 10.  Penalties for failure to satisfy continuing legal education requirement. 

(a) On or before March 31 of each year, the Wyoming State Bar shall serve each active 

attorney who has not complied with the continuing legal education requirements for the previous 

calendar year, a Notice of Noncompliance.  On or before March 31 of each year, the Wyoming 

State Bar shall also give notice to each new admittee who has not taken the mandatory CLE class 

described in Rule 4(b) of these Rules.  Delinquent attorneys and new admittees failing to comply 

with Rule 4(b) will have until April 30 to submit applications for adequate credits to cure the 

delinquency, along with payment of a $100 noncompliance fee, payable to the Board of 

Continuing Legal Education. 

(b) On or before May 1 of each year, the Wyoming State Bar shall serve each active attorney 

who failed to comply with the continuing legal education requirements for the previous year by 

March 31, a Final Notice of Noncompliance.  On or before May 1 of each year, the Wyoming 

State Bar shall also give notice to each new admittee who has not taken the mandatory CLE class 

described in Rule 4(b) of these Rules.  Delinquent attorneys and new admittees failing to comply 

with Rule 4(b) will have until May 31 to submit application for adequate credits to cure the 

delinquency, along with payment of an additional $200 noncompliance fee, payable to the Board 

of Continuing Legal Education. 

(c)  On or before June 15 of each year, the Wyoming State Bar shall forward a 

Recommendation for Suspension for Noncompliance of continuing legal education requirement 

to the Court for each active attorney who failed to comply with the continuing legal education 

requirement for the previous year by May 31, or for any delinquent attorney who has failed to 

pay the appropriate noncompliance fee.  On or before June 15 of each year, the Wyoming State 

Bar shall also forward a Recommendation for Suspension for Noncompliance of continuing legal 

education Requirement to the Court for each new admittee who has not taken the mandatory 

CLE class described in Rule 4(b) of these Rules by May 31, or for any new admittee who has 

failed to pay the appropriate noncompliance fee.   

(d) Upon receipt of the Recommendation for Suspension for Noncompliance of continuing 

legal education requirements, the Court shall issue an Order to Show Cause as to why the 

delinquent attorney's or new admittee's license to practice law in the State of Wyoming should 

not be suspended, sent by certified mail, return receipt requested, addressed to the attorney at the 

official address listed with the Wyoming State Bar.  The attorney has 30 days to cure the 

delinquency, along with payment of an additional $300 noncompliance fee, payable to the Board 

of Continuing Legal Education.  The delinquent attorney may file a response with the Court 

within 30 days of the date of the order to show cause by filing an original and six copies of such 

response with the clerk of the Court.  The delinquent attorney shall also serve a copy of the 

response on the Board of Continuing Legal Education, together with a $300 noncompliance fee 

payable to that Board. 

(e)  If an attorney fails to cure the delinquency within the allotted time period, the delinquent 

attorney’s or new admittee’s license to practice law in the State of Wyoming shall be suspended 

by order of the Court. The order of suspension shall be served by the Court by certified mail, 

return receipt requested.  In the absence of good cause shown, an order of suspension from the 

practice of law for a period of one (1) year shall issue from the Court. 



(f)  If an attorney has not cured the delinquency within one year after the date of the order of 

suspension, upon notification from the Board to the Court, the delinquent attorney’s or new 

admittee’s license to practice law in the State of Wyoming shall be terminated by order of the 

Court. The order of termination shall be served by the Court by certified mail, return receipt 

requested.   

 

 

Rule 11.  Duties of suspended attorneys. 

 ***** 

(b)  If an attorney has not cured the suspension filed a petition for reinstatement within six 

months from the date of the order, the attorney shall within 15 days deliver to all present and 

former clients all client files. 

***** 

 

 

12.  Reinstatement. 

 

(a)  Any attorney may, within six months of the order of suspension, be reinstated by 

performing the following: 

(1) File a written petition for reinstatement with the Board with the requisite fee set 

forth in Rule 10. 

(2) Furnish evidence of completion of the continuing legal education requirement for 

which suspended, as well as that applicable during the period of suspension. 

(3) Furnish evidence that no claims or awards against the attorney were made from 

the client’s security fund for which the fund has not been reimbursed. 

(4) Furnish evidence that the attorney has satisfied all special requirements of the 

order of suspension. 

The suspended member may be reinstated upon the filing of a petition for reinstatement 

within one (1) year of the date of the order of suspension, which petition shall be filed, along 

with six copies, with the Supreme Court.  A copy of the petition shall also be provided to the 

Board of Continuing Legal Education.  The petition shall be supported by an affidavit which 

shows: (1) that all past annual license fees, the current year’s annual license fee and any late 

charges have been paid in full, in addition to all past and current annual fees for continuing legal 

education; (2) that the attorney is current on all mandatory continuing legal education 

requirements; (3) that there have been no claims or awards made in regard to an attorney on the 

client's security fund for which the fund has not been reimbursed; and (4) the attorney has 

complied with all other applicable conditions for reinstatement.  The petition shall be 

accompanied by all appropriate fees for applicants for admission on motion.  A response by the 

Board of Continuing Legal Education may be filed within twenty (20) days of the date of service 

of the petition for reinstatement. 

(b) Any attorney who has been suspended for more than six months because of failure to 

satisfy continuing legal education requirements must satisfy the requirements of subsection (a) 

above. In addition, an application for reinstatement must be filed with the Court, which will be 

referred to the Character and Fitness Committee of the State Board of Law Examiners for 

investigation. After an investigation, the Committee will provide a recommendation to the Board 



of Continuing Legal Education regarding reinstatement. The following documents must be filed 

with the Court:  

(1)  application for admission to the Wyoming State Bar; 

(2) check or money order in the amount of the application fee, made payable to the 

Clerk of the Wyoming Supreme Court; 

(3) NCBE request for preparation of a character report; 

(4) appropriate payment by check, money order or credit card, made payable to the 

NCBE, for the preparation of character report; 

(5) proof of payment of all license fees, current and past, including any late fees; 

(6) proof that all CLE requirements, past and current, have been satisfied; 

(7) proof that no claims or awards have been made from the Clients’ Security Fund 

for which the fund has not been reimbursed. 

(c) If the attorney satisfies the applicable requirements for reinstatement set out above, the 

Board will file a recommendation for reinstatement of the attorney with the Court. 

If an attorney who is suspended from the practice of law for a continuing legal education 

delinquency has not petitioned for reinstatement within one (1) year of the date of the order of 

suspension, such attorney’s membership in the Wyoming State Bar shall be terminated by order 

of the Court.  Such attorney who thereafter seeks admission to the Wyoming State Bar shall 

comply with the admissions requirements set forth in Sections II and IV of the Wyoming Rules 

and Procedures Governing Admission to the Practice of Law. 

***** 


