
IN THE SUPREME COURT, STATE OF WYOMING 
 

                                                                                           April Term, A.D. 2013 

 

 
 

 

 

In the Matter of Amendments to     ) 

Rules 4, 6, and 10 of the     ) 

Rules of the Wyoming State Board of   ) 

Continuing Legal Education     )  

 

 

ORDER ADOPTING AMENDMENTS TO RULES 4, 6, AND 10  

OF THE RULES OF THE WYOMING STATE BOARD  

OF CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION  
 

  

 The Wyoming State Board of Continuing Legal Education has recommended that this 

Court amend Rules 4, 6, and 10 of the Rules of the Wyoming State Board of Continuing Legal 

Education.  The Court, having carefully reviewed the proposed amendments, finds that the 

proposed amendments should be adopted.  It is, therefore, 

 

 ORDERED that the amendments to Rules 4, 6, and 10 of the Rules of the Wyoming 

State Board of Continuing Legal Education, attached hereto, be and hereby are adopted by the 

Court to be effective January 1, 2014; and it is further 

 

ORDERED that this order and the attached amendments shall be published in the 

advance sheets of the Pacific Reporter; the attached amendments shall be published in the 

Wyoming Court Rules Volume; and that this order and the attached amendments shall be 

published online at the Wyoming Judicial Branch’s website, http://www.courts.state.wy.us.  The 

amendments shall thereafter be spread at length upon the journal of this Court. 

 

 DATED this 17
th
 day of September, 2013. 

 

      BY THE COURT: 

        

      /s/ 

      

      MARILYN S. KITE 

      Chief Justice 

  

http://www.courts.state.wy.us/


Rules of the Wyoming State Board of Continuing Legal Education 

 

***** 

 

Rule 4.  Continuing legal education requirement. 

   (a) Requirements. 

(1)  Active Members: A minimum of 15 hours of continuing legal education, including 

one a total of two hours of legal ethics, must be completed by each attorney each calendar year.  

(2)  New Active Members: A minimum of 15 hours of continuing legal education 

including a total of two hours of legal ethics must be completed each calendar year. 

(3)  Emeritus Members: A minimum of seven (7) hours of continuing legal education 

including one hour of legal ethics must be completed each calendar year. 

 

   (b) Each new admittee to the Wyoming State Bar shall complete, within before the end of the 

first full calendar year after admission, a six-hour continuing legal education course.  The course 

shall be conducted by the Wyoming State Bar and shall be available at least three times a year, at 

such times and places as the Wyoming State Bar may designate.  No other course or courses may 

be used to satisfy the requirements of this subsection.  The course shall cover the following 

criteria: ***** 

 

   (g) An attorney may receive a maximum of five hours of legal education credit each calendar 

year for providing pro bono public service as defined in Rule 6.1 of the Wyoming Rules of 

Professional Conduct.  Such credit may be received at the rate of one credit hour for each two 

hours of pro bono public service, including (1) performing pro bono public service, (2) acting as 

a mentor for another attorney who is performing pro bono public service, and (3) acting as a 

mentor for an eligible law student in accordance with Rule 12, Rules of the Supreme Court of 

Wyoming Providing for the Organization and Government of the Bar Association and Attorneys 

At Law of the State of Wyoming. 

 

A maximum of three hours of accredited continuing legal education credit may be 

granted to those lawyers who provide representation or mentoring activities as approved by the 

Wyoming Pro Bono Organization (WYPBO). 

 (1) The attorney will receive one hour of continuing legal education credit for every five 

billable-equivalent hours.  In the case of participation in the WYPBO program, the number of 

hours of credit is not to exceed three per year for civil case representation.  Representation is 

defined as providing legal services to one or more clients in a single or series of related matters. 

 (2) Upon completion of a WYPBO matter, the participating attorney shall receive a letter 

from the WYPBO director certifying the number of hours of credit earned for the representation.  

The attorney shall report this activity on the form referenced in Rule 4(h), and attach a copy of 

the certification letter. 

 (3) A WYPBO attorney who acts as a mentor to another attorney for a pro bono case will 

be awarded one continuing legal education credit per case and shall not be eligible to receive 

more than three continuing legal education credits for pro bono work in any one calendar year.  

Mentors will be assigned at the time of referral by indigent client and the mentor.  Mentors shall 

be available to the attorney representing the indigent client for information and advice on all 

aspects of the case, but the mentor will not be required to file or otherwise enter an appearance 



on behalf of the indigent client.  Mentors may not be members of the same firm or in association 

with the attorney representing the indigent client. 

 (4) A WYPBO attorney who acts as a mentor for a law student who has successfully 

completed at least four semesters at an ABA accredited law school on a case will be awarded 

three continuing legal education credits and shall not be eligible to receive more than three 

continuing legal education credits for pro bono work in any one calendar year.  Mentors will be 

assigned to law students at the time of referral by the WYPBO coordinator with the consent of 

the law student, the law school and the mentor.  Mentors will be available to the law student for 

information and advice on all aspects of the case and mentor the law student on the case while 

supervising.  However, the mentor will allow the law student to provide services with the direct 

supervision of the mentoring attorney.  The mentor shall file or otherwise enter an appearance on 

behalf of the indigent client if an appearance is required in accord with Rule 12, Rules of the 

Supreme Court of Wyoming Providing for the Organization and Government of the Bar 

Association and Attorneys. 

***** 

 

 

Rule 6.  Accreditation of continuing legal education activities. 

 ***** 

(c) Self-Study Credit.  Self-study credit may be given for programs where audio, video or online 

material is used, subject to the following conditions: 

 (1) Board approval is received prior to viewing or listening; 

 (2) The audio, video or online material is from an accredited continuing legal education 

activity; 

 (3) The audio, video or online material is accompanied by a paper, manual, or written 

outline which substantively relates to the subject matter of the materials; 

 (4) Application for self study credit will be made on a form approved by the Board; and 

 (5) The applicant has not previously applied for credit for viewing or listening to the 

same material; and 

 (6) No more than five six hours of self-study credit may be earned during one calendar 

year.  No hours may be carried over to any subsequent years.  

***** 

 

Rule 10.  Penalties for failure to satisfy continuing legal education requirement. 

 

(a) On or before March 31 of each year, the Wyoming State Bar shall serve each active 

attorney required to report as described in CLE Rule 4(a) who has not complied with the 

continuing legal education requirements for the previous calendar year, a Notice of 

Noncompliance.  On or before March 31 of each year, the Wyoming State Bar shall also give 

notice to each new admittee who has not taken the mandatory CLE class described in Rule 4(b) 

of these Rules.  Delinquent attorneys and new admittees failing to comply with Rule 4(b) will 

have until April 30 to submit applications for adequate credits to cure the delinquency, along 

with payment of a $100 noncompliance fee, payable to the Board of Continuing Legal 

Education. 

 (b) On or before May 1 of each year, the Wyoming State Bar shall serve each active 

attorney required to report as described in CLE Rule 4(a) who failed to comply with the 



continuing legal education requirements for the previous year by March 31, a Final Notice of 

Noncompliance.  On or before May 1 of each year, the Wyoming State Bar shall also give notice 

to each new admittee who has not taken the mandatory CLE class described in Rule 4(b) of these 

Rules.  Delinquent attorneys and new admittees failing to comply with Rule 4(b) will have until 

May 31 to submit application for adequate credits to cure the delinquency, along with payment 

of an additional $200 noncompliance fee, payable to the Board of Continuing Legal Education. 

 (c) On or before June 15 of each year, the Wyoming State Bar shall forward a 

Recommendation for Suspension for Noncompliance of continuing legal education requirement 

to the Court for each active attorney required to report as described in CLE Rule 4(a) who failed 

to comply with the continuing legal education requirement for the previous year by May 31, or 

for any delinquent attorney who has failed to pay the appropriate noncompliance fee.  On or 

before June 15 of each year, the Wyoming State Bar shall also forward a Recommendation for 

Suspension for Noncompliance of continuing legal education Requirement to the Court for each 

new admittee who has not taken the mandatory CLE class described in Rule 4(b) of these Rules 

by May 31, or for any new admittee who has failed to pay the appropriate noncompliance fee. 

 (d) Upon receipt of the Recommendation for Suspension for Noncompliance of 

continuing legal education requirements, the Court shall issue an Order to Show Cause as to why 

the delinquent attorney's or new admittee's license to practice law in the State of Wyoming 

should not be suspended, sent by certified mail, return receipt requested, addressed to the 

attorney at the official address listed with the Wyoming State Bar.  The delinquent attorney may 

file a response with the Court within 30 days of the date of the order to show cause by filing an 

original and six copies of such response with the clerk of the Court.  The delinquent attorney 

shall also serve a copy of the response on the Board of Continuing Legal Education, together 

with a $300 noncompliance fee payable to that Board. 

 (e) In the absence of good cause shown, an order of suspension from the practice of law 

for a period of one (1) year shall issue from the Court. 

  

***** 


