IN THE SUPREME COURT, STATE OF WYOMING

APRIL TERM, A.D. 1985

IN THE MATTER OF AMENDING
RULES 2, 3 AND 5 OF RULES
FOR THE ORGANIZATION AND
GOVERNMENT OF THE WYOMING

IN THE SUPREME COURT
STATE OF WYOMINC

STATE BAR AND RULES 3, 5 FILED
AND 7 OF THE RULES OF THE '
SUPREME._COURT FOR THE .- SEP 27 1985

CONTINUING. LEGAL EDUCATION/
MEMBERS OF THE WYOMING
STATE BAR
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Pursuant to § 5-2-118, W.S.1977, and after consideration
in conference and otherwise between the Officers and Bar
Commissioners of the Wyoming State Bar and this Court, it is;

ORDERED that effective this date, Rules 2, 3 and 5 of the
Rules Providing for the Organization and Government of the Bar
Association of the Attorneys at Law of the State of Wyoming be,
and are, amended and approved to read:

Rule 2. Membership.

All persons who are now or shall hereafter be admitted to
the practice of law, as defined by Rule 18, in this state under
and pursuant to the laws thereof, who shall not have been dis-
barred pursuant to the disciplinary code, and who shall have paid
their required license fees shall constitute and be members of the
state bar, and shall be subject to the provisions of these rules.

Rule 3. Classification of members.

Members of the state bar shall be classified as: (1) active,
(2) inactive, (3) honorary, or (4) retired. An inactive member is
one not practicing law in Wyoming and electing to pay the reduced
license fee pursuant to Rule 5. An honorary member is a supreme
court justice, district court judge, county court judge, judge of
the United States District Court for the District of Wyoming, and
any other federal judge resident of this state, and a justice or
judge retired from such courts who has not resumed the practice of
law. A retired member is one not engaged in the practice of law



who has made a written request to the executive director of the

state bar to be enrolled as a retired inember. All other members
are active members.

Rule 5. Membership fees; nonpayment; termination of membership.

All members of the state bar, except honorary and retired
members, shall, on or before the second week in October in each
and every year, pay to the executive director of the state bar, as
a license fee for the current fiscal year (October 1 to September
30) the sum of one-hundred twenty-five dollars ($125.00), fifteen
dollars ($15.00) of which shall be placed into a special fund for
use by the grievance committee under the disciplinary code,
Wyoming State Bar; provided that the license fee for any member
admitted to practice law in this or any other state for a time
less than three (3) years and for an inactive member who so elects
shall be one-half (1/2) of the regular resident license fee, of
which seven dollars and fifty cents ($7.50) shall be placed into
the special fund for use by the grievance committee. Upon resump-
tion of the practice of law in the state of Wyoming, any honorary
or retired member shall pay the annual dues of an active member of
the state bar as herein provided for the current fiscal year.
Such fees shall constitute a fund to be held and disbursed upon
order of the board. As soon as practicable after the second week
in September in each year, the executive director shall send a
written statement for the annual fee to each member of the state
bar. If any member is in default for the payment of dues on the
first day of December of any year, the executive director shall
send a notice of delinquency to each such member. 1If any member
remains in default on the fifteenth day of December of any year,
the executive director shall forthwith certify to the judge of the
district court of the judicial district wherein such delinquent
member resides the name of such member, and the executive director
shall certify to the supreme court the names of delinquent non-
resident members. The district judge for delinquent resident
members and the chief justice of the supreme court for delinquent
non-resident members shall forthwith issue against such member a
citation returnable twenty (20) days thereafter to show cause why
membership in the Wyoming State Bar should not be terminated. If
good cause be not shown in response to such citation, an order of
termination as appropriate shall issue forthwith and when issued
by a district judge be certified to the supreme court; provided
that if it is determined that the member in default is unable for
good cause to pay his license fee, the payment of such license fee
for that year may be remitted or suspended in whole or in part by
order duly entered and when entered by a district judge certified
to the supreme court.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Rules 3, 5 and 7 of the Rules
of the Supreme Court for the Continuing Legal Education of the

Wyoming State Bar be, and are, amended and approved to read:



Rule 3. Céntinuing legal education requirement.

Each active member of the state bar shall complete during
each calendar year a minimum of fifteen (15) hours of accredited
continuing legal education as defined in Rule 4. Hours completed
in any year in excess of the minimum number may be carried forward
to satisfy the requirements for either of the two (2) years next
following.

Rule 5. Annual report by attorneys.

On or before January 30 of each year, each member of the
Wyoming State Bar who was an active member during the preceding
calendar year, shall make a written report to the board, in such
form as the board shall prescribe, concerning such member's
completion of accredited legal education during the preceding
calendar year. Such report shall include the title of programs
attended, the sponsoring agency, the number of hours in actual
attendance at each such program, and such other information as the
board shall require. An attorney shall not be required to comply
with this rule or comply under the requirement of Rule 3 for the
year during which such attorney was admitted to practice.

Rule 7.

Deleted.

Dated this 27th day of September, 198

RICHARD V. THOMAS
Chief Justice



